About Page Blues

As this year has spread its bounty before me, I have found myself writing mostly poetry. Sometimes it’s even poetry that I originally wrote in college that I’m revisiting and revising, to show my students that a writer is never finished with writing but simply decides it’s time to stop.

But then I read this post, courtesy of Scribbling from the Bluegrass, in which she waxes eloquently about the importance of putting your best foot forward in a well written “About” page. She says that what she finds in an about page might make or break whether or not she decides to follow someone.

And here’s my page. It’s short and to the point, but it doesn’t come close to describing who I am as a writer. Nowhere in there is the fact that I substituted creative writing in the place of American Lit when I was in college. It doesn’t address the irony that my first teaching job required me to teach American Lit, the one class I avoided.

It doesn’t address the reality of my life. Two kids, two jobs, one amazing husband, in that mix, where is there time for me to write?

Do I ignore my students (as I was at first during first my Creative Writing class, and now my Social Media class) in order to write? Do I ignore my two little kids? My husband? My second job? Go to the gym or go to keyboard?

I am not unique. I know that many other people juggle their busy lives in order to find time to write. But many of those people have found a way to represent themselves creatively on their blog, to let the world know who they are and what they are about. Heck, I don’t even have a profile picture yet.

So here’s my pledge. I will find a way to better represent myself as a writer during NaBloPoMo. I will find the time to keep the creativity flowing.  Here’s hoping there’s someone out there to read it.

4 Comments

  1. Thanks for the kind words. Finding time is tough — I try to remind myself of Scott Turow, working as a US attorney in Chicago and writing Presumed Innocent on the train going to and from work; sometime it just makes me feel tired, but sometimes I manage to find 10 minutes to work on a Natalie Goldberg prompt.

    Like

    1. I hear you! At least right now I can justify that I’m “modeling writing” for my creative writing class by writing when they do. At least I’m not trying to write a novel!

      Like

Leave a Reply

