Blog Hop II: The Name Game

This is the first blog hop I’ve ever done, and I have to say thanks to Snoskred for the invite (although that site seems to be down at present.)

The rules for the Name Game Blog Hop:

  1. Write a paragraph or two about somebody from an ordinary walk of life with an unordinary name. It can either be a true story about somebody you know with that name, or a fictional piece about somebody with a name you made up.
  2. After you’re done posting your story, send me an email to markbialczak@gmail.com with your Blog Hop II, your blog name and either TRUE STORY or MADE IT UP in the subject line.
  3. Pick another Nano Poblano team member from the home page and tag them on their About page. Try to spread the wealth around from Fish of Gold’s original blog hop to start, but duplication is OK as the month rolls along.
  4. The writing cutoff is Nov. 28. By the end of Nov. 29, email to me at markbialczak@gmail.com a list with a guess of TRUE STORY or MADE UP for each post on the blog hop. Put Blog Hop II, Final Guesses in the subject line.
  5. The Nano Poblano team member with the most correct answers wins a special prize, which I will mail to them. That means you will have to email me your address if you win.
  6. Add your link to the chain of writers.
  7. Have fun.

The Story:

It’s Veteran’s Day here in the U.S., so I feel the need to honor someone special to me with a very unusual name. My grandfather served in World War II as a medical assistant in the Pacific. After the war was over, he came back to the U.S. and looked for a job in the medical field, since he had some experience.

One of my favorite stories about him takes place in back in Michigan, where he was from. In the 1940s, there were no “Clear Blue” tests for pregnancy. No, to find out if you were pregnant, you either waited 9 months to find out or you went to the doctor for a blood test. Pregnancy testing often fell to my grandfather to do. And when my grandmother came in for testing? “The rabbit died.” That’s how he let her know my mother was on the way.

His name? Eggie Drewes.

And now I’m tagging the worm keeper at Love Marriage Worms to continue the story.

Who has contributed so far?

Markbialczak
Silver Threading
The Chatter Blog
MeWhoAmI
Lindaghill
Lucy at the Excessive Gardener
DebraB at Debra Books
Mindful Digressions
Fish of Gold
Snoskred

 

 

13 Comments

  1. Don’t worry, Mrs. Crawford. Disappointing teachers isn’t my thing! I FULLY accept my responsibility, WHATEVER that responsibility happens to be, even if I have to write 3 blog posts tonight. Sincerely Yours, the Worm Keeper.

    Like

Leave a Reply

