Borrowed Words

The bones of a gnarled summer
left outside, as
an instinctive earthquake
pairs my loneliness to
my love.
Flinching,
angry at first,
cold lips and angry eyes
pound.
Scratch that–
I shove, I push and
you are left behind.
Crushed at first,
that final ideal reality
runs past, with
no good game
left in the world.
I didn’t text you back.

Written as a mentor text, to show students how to “borrow” the words of their fellow students. All words are (mostly) attributed to my students.

Image attributed to https://www.flickr.com/photos/alesssurprise/

Leave a Reply

